Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aangel_gw

Newbie here... I'd love advice on our house plans

aangel
14 years ago

I just discovered this site this week...What a wealth of information! I'm so impressed with all the advice, ideas, and encouragement.

My husband and I are hoping to break ground on a new home in the next 2-3 months. We live in rural South Carolina, and have 3 kids- newborn, 2, and 5. I've been pretty settled on the houseplan for several months. I would love any thoughts or suggestions. We hope to live in this house for the rest of our lives.

We would have 4 bedrooms. We really don't want or need a formal dining, so we'd like it to be a library/study. Also, we'd enclose the porch, and I'd like it to be a playroom for the kids, at least while they are so young. Does that sound reasonable?

Let's see if I can post the plans...

(The 2nd floor is just a bonus room over the garage.)

Thanks in advance for all the advice!

Comments (16)

• sunfeather
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

That's a nice house plan. I know you think you will be here for life but you never know --- so, you might want to consider resale issues while building.

• bigkahuna
    14 years ago

Gardner plans are pretty well thought out for the moost part but in your case a few things to consider. If you dont want the dining room I would make the dinette deeper as well as the porch. The porch would work better if it were 12-14 feet deep. I prefer to see it stay a porch or screen porch although I hate looking out a house rear view through a screen porch personally. Can you finish basement for play area ? Its too public and open for play rroom for me. Utility room is a bit small and have to be walked through from garage. Also it is lacking a pantry. Kitchen is adequete but not large by any means. If your budet would allow it I would try to modify the right side of the home to address those issues listed above.

• aangel
    Original Author
    14 years ago