Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carsonheim_gw

What questions should I ask Landscape architect?

carsonheim
9 years ago

We are going to be meeting with Landscape Architects in the next week or so in order to get our yard looking less like a combat zone and more like a residential yard :)

I've never worked with a landscape architect before, so I'm not sure if there are certain things I should be asking when meeting with them.

Anyone care to give me some pointers? THANKS!!!

Comments (8)

• GreenDesigns
    9 years ago

Just go down the standard list that you would with any professional. Education, past experiences, favorite style, porfolio, and personality. For most cash strapped homeowners, it's also important that a master plan be developed that can be implemented in stages over the life of the home, so asking about projects that took that approach would be helpful for you to hear about.

• pixie_lou
    9 years ago

IIRC you are in a development with lots of design restrictions. Make sure to have a copy of those and make sure the LA is willing to work within those parameters.

• rrah
    9 years ago

Also ask if they recommend specific plants or plant types. Get references and determine if s/he will listen to you and your limits. We paid a landscape architect to design our landscape. He is well known in our area and has been in business for decades. He returned with a plan that contained exactly what we told him we would not do and did not want (an addition to our driveway to make it circular, a change in the size of our deck and the location of stairs). His plan contained no specifics on plants to be used. It was disappointing overall.

We did use one element of his plan for some other hardscaping. A few years later we went to a nursery that will design a landscape plan. That plan ended up being free because of what we spent at the nursery.

• Annie Deighnaugh
    9 years ago