Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
etcncr8

Fiber cement cladding?

etcncr
10 years ago

Hello!
I'm new to think forum and a little desperate.;) we are in the process of building our home (it's in the framing stage right now) and I cannot come to a conclusion about the exterior. For a long time we were sure we would use fiber cement cladding all over the house with white trim around all windows. But I'm afraid the fiber cemetery will look too fake. The real wood stuff isn't an option as we live in a very hot climate. Has anyone had experience with the fiber cement stuff? Do any of you know how I can see different looks for my house? Like a program of some sort? We keep drawing it by hand, but I'm definitely no artist. This is such a big decision, I don't want to regret anything.

Thank you so much!

Comments (20)

• etcncr
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I apologize for all the errors, I wrote this post from my phone.:)

• cricket5050
    10 years ago

We were considering the fiber cement siding for our next house but changed our mind after reading internet reviews and talking to a friend who has used it in remodels.

He said it is hard to put up, requires special nails and there is lots of cement dust when you cut it. If the nails do not go straight into the siding you might have a problem with moisture after a few years. It is labor intensive and most builders charge a much higher rate to install.

• dyno
    10 years ago

Local building code here (in the Pacific northwest) calls for treated wood furring strips between the building paper and cement board, creating a drainage plane.

Much of the online complaints seem to be a result of water trapped behind the cement board. I've seen no issues either on my own home (built 2010) nor in the surrounding area. Given you are in an arid region, you should see no issues.