Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sdegraff77

Lighting Plan Review please!

sdegraff77
10 years ago

Please help with our lighting plan. I am not sure we have all the light we need where we need it. Main floor and basement are ceilings are 9 ft second floor is 8ft.

We have a mix if recesses lights and regular fixtures

Comments (7)

• sdegraff77
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Second floor- concerned with the lighting in the bathrooms and hallway.

This post was edited by sdegraff77 on Thu, Jan 16, 14 at 0:56

• sdegraff77
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Basement- not sure we need so many lights in the main area.

• Annie Deighnaugh
    10 years ago

I'm no lighting expert and may not be reading the plan correctly, but I'm not seeing any accent lights...we put in lighting to highlight drapery panels, fronts of book cases, sconces over the mantel, recessed cans to light the woodstove area, lighting in the glass fronted cabs in the kitchen, a spot light over the fume hood area to accent the display there, wall sconces in the DR, accent lights to highlight the art work in the DR, at the end of the hall to accent display there, in the foyer to accent the art there. Also, of course under cabinet lighting in the kitchen. Now is the time to be thinking about that as well as, IMHO, it is lighting that can make or break any room design.

Also, keep in mind that recessed cans will light a circle on the floor, but flush/semi flush/pendants will drop the light lower into the room and light all the way around, so you potentially gain more light from those fixtures.

In the bathrooms, think about symmetry around the mirrors...if you want one single fixture or 2 smaller ones on each side. Think about what you want to see and experience when you are in the bath. For example, we installed a seat in our steam shower and put a light underneath the seat so we could have ambient light when steaming vs. the harsher light from above.