Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
magsmayers

Is it worth it to do USB outlet in new house?

magsmayers
9 years ago

We are building a home and trying to figure out electrical upgrades currently. A friend suggested that we do USB outlets in the bedroom and at the catch-all desk in the mudroom for phone charging. Is this a thing of the future? It seems unnecessary, since our iphones have the adapter plug for the charger. Is there any other reason to do this that I'm unaware of? Thanks for your feedback!

Comments (22)

• funkycamper
    9 years ago

It just means less little gadgets and pieces to deal with. There are outlets with both regular plugs and USBs on the same wall plate so it's not a big deal to add a few. Well, I didn't do the wiring myself but my husband never mentioned any problems with installation. And, yes, with so many USB-powered items, it probably is the wave of the future. I'd do it. In fact, I did.

• pwanna1
    9 years ago

I have no personal experience, but I do know my brother did this and he now won't use them. He had trouble with them. I don't really remember what the issue was (maybe dirty electric? Maybe battery drain?) Honestly, I tend to tune him out when he and my husband start talking tech stuff, but I did catch that they were not happy with the USB plugs in the outlet and they have gone back to using their power bricks and USB cords for charging stuff...for what it's worth...

• galore2112
    9 years ago

The USB outlets that I have seen fit a standard electrical box. So it's not something you have to meticulously plan for. You can just install one in 10 minutes and if you don't like it or if the USB outlet is obsolete in the future it takes only a few minutes to remove it.

• worthy
    9 years ago