Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ilmbg

is there a need in Texas?

ilmbg
16 years ago

I am just tossing this around- I have been a nurse for 25 years, but unable to work now due to breaking my neck at work. I will be moving to Texas- I am not sure exactly where, but somewhere outside of San Antonio (probably east/north of there), outside Austin, Bastrop- somewhere where I will be by hospitals in case I will be able to go back to nursing sometime-(I hope). Anyway, I was thinking of building a SMALL dog/cat and/or horse boarding facility. It would be compliant with codes. The boarding of horses would only be short term- say for someone going on vacation, due to too much lifting/heavy cleaning. The dog/cat part would be small- maybe 5-10 dogs. I want it to not be like a typical kennel- it would have kennels-runs according to code, but I want the animals to have a more 'home' environment- possible having play time in my yard/home- not just being in a kennel/run. I am not sure how to go about this part, as it is just a thought at this time. Anyway, is there a need for good/quality dog sitting/boarding in these areas. It would make no sense for me to invest in quality building/kennels, etc. if there is not a shortage in these areas. My daughter wanted to board her dog last year, and she had a terrible time finding a place- most said they were full for several months in advance.. I used to show dogs in obedience many years ago, and have shown horses most of my life, so I not just someone who is thinking about this for 'the money'- it is a life interest. Just a thought at this time- Thanks

Comments (6)

• fairegold
    16 years ago

I have a friend with a boarding kennel in Katy, near Houston. I think there's a need for a good facility just about everywhere, but you need to look up the available facilities in your immediate area. Won't do you any good if your town is flooded with good kennels but the town 30 miles away has nothing. Know what I mean.