Return to the Beauty & Fashion Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
'Black Tie' event - what to wear

Posted by mrs_tlc (My Page) on
Wed, Nov 19, 08 at 21:00

We have recently been invited to a "Formal Black Tie Reception" to celebrate the season with champagne & caviar. It is at the "Estate" of an acquaintance. I have never been there before but here it is quite lavish. Here's the question.....is a classic "little black dress" appropriate for me....and.....should DH wear a tux or is a black suit & tie acceptable?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: 'Black Tie' event - what to wear

I'm no expert, but I always took black tie to mean an actual tux should be worn.

I'd have to see your little black dress, but if it's something you could wear to a bar with the girls, then it's probably not nice enough.

The key word that sticks out to me is FORMAL... that really stresses what is going on... it's not just Black Tie... it's Formal Black Tie. I would ask around, but I'm thinking a floor length gown may be in order. My uncle used to throw black tie parties and yes, some broke the rules, but most came dressed to the nines. I don't know how old you are, but I would maybe look into a very long fancy straight black skirt and maybe a sequenced/shimmery type top. You could sort of blend in with the others regardless of which way the formality swings.

o

Formal black tie, the men will defiitely wear a tux and the ladies long dresses/gowns. In recent years, I've seen a trend towards Black Tie Optional, which gives more leeway for people to dress up but with more options.

o