Return to the Beauty & Fashion Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Has the salon industry gone mad?

Posted by MaryAnnP (marispel@yahoo.com) on
Tue, Nov 18, 03 at 15:16

I just called my salon to schedule a haircut and was told that my stylist has raised his prices. The cost of a haircut is now $70.00 - can this be right?

I am outraged at the cost that decent stylists are charging these days.

What really gets me going is the tip on top of this. If a stylist or even the salon is charging $70 for a 30 minute haircut then forget the tip...he's making his money in the cost of the cut. I mean really...why am I tipping him for a service that he charges me high prices for?

I've read in other places where people tip because of "good" service...isn't that what the $70 is for? If he is commission only - then wouldn't the $70 cover his fees. I'm just upset that this tipping thing has gotten so out of hand.

I'm a business owner and provide a service to my clients - but yet no one tips me and the reason is because I charge them for my services.

Sorry to vent - I'm just amazed that people pay this kind of money to get their haircut and they tip on top of it. Maybe I'm cheap or maybe the whole industry has gone mad.

Marispel

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Has the salon industry gone mad?

Marispel, it's supply and demand. The basic hairstylists around here charge $40-$45. Then the upper tier charges as much as they can. If you get popular and busy, why not raise your rates? I'm in the greater L.A. area, so for the best stylists you're paying hundreds of dollars. But you have the choice to stop going to him and go to someone else.

If I could find a good person close by who has talent I'd gladly pay $70-$100. As it is I cut and colored my own hair last time - frustrated at the lack of talented people in my area.

o

I need to hug my stylist next time I go...she charges $27.00 for a wash, cut and blowdry, and she is good. I've been going to her for 15 years. (oh crap...I'm so old!)