Return to the Beauty & Fashion Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need clear/non-glossy top coat/strengthener etc. for husband

Posted by lynnalexandra (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 26, 06 at 10:29

I hope somebody here can help. My husband plays guitar - finger-picking style and his nails can't withstand the picking unless he wears a few coats of top coat. But all he's been able to find is glossy clear top coat. And glossy nails don't go over well during his conservative day job. So I told him I'd ask here for advice.

Are there any invisible (clear, non-glossy) products he can use to strengthen his nails? While he was looking for a top coat product, I think there may be other products to consider as well. Strengtheners or base coats, in addition to protective top coats.

My own nails break if I blink, so I have no experience to offer him. Any help is appreciated.

Lynn (usually on the cooking forum, but here a a couple of times about undergarments)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need clear/non-glossy top coat/strengthener etc. for husband

How about this?

Here is a link that might be useful: Nails for Males

o
More

or he could try Barielle products or use Solar Oil to strenghten his nails. (I swear by solar oil for great strong nails.)

I use Deborah Lippmann's Rehydrating Base Coat by itself. It's not super glossy, but has a bit more gloss that plain buffed nails.

PS. The Orly stuff contains toluene and formaldehyde which will probably make his nails worse, sorry.

o

I used to use a product called Develop Ten. It went on matte and made my nails strong.

o

OPI Nail Envy is available in a matte finish.

o

Why doesn't he try using fingerpicks?

o

I've been taking 500 micrograms daily of bioin (a B vitamin) for the past seven months. It was recommended here.

It made a big improvement in nail strength within the first six weeks and they also seem to grow a bit faster.

You both may want to try it. I checked for possible side-effects and there appear to be none.