Return to the Cooking Outdoors Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Beore you buy a big grill, read this.

Posted by freedee (My Page) on
Thu, Sep 20, 07 at 20:45

I got one of those super big grills, a few years ago and I love it, but I have to warn you about something. Before I bought it I asked the salesman, "what if I just want to make two lamb chops?" He said, no problem just use one or two of the rows of burners. The problem is, that if you only use a small part of the grill, the huge cavity doesn't heat up enough to sear the lamb chops. If I had it to do over again, I would get a grill that has two compartments, like my parents grill, that cost thousands less.

On the flip side, on thanksgiving, when I don't have enough room for everything in the oven, I can put the turkey on the grill.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Beore you buy a big grill, read this.

Hi there! I am new to this forum but was happy to hear you grill your turkey too. I am relatively new at using the gas grill. Grilling period, really. A friend bought her husband a new one and gave us the old one to practice on to see if we enjoy it. It's Great!! I don't know if you do yours the same but we use a 13lb.er. I use Hickory or Apple but Hickory is my favorite so far. I like to soak the chips overnight and then about 20 minutes before I'm ready to put my bird on I preheat the grill on high on both sides.