Return to the Cooking Outdoors Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Using Firewood for your Smoker Q

Posted by obrionusa (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 12, 12 at 7:14

Has anyone ever smoked on your smoker with firewood? I thought about using some wood that blew off my trees during the last few storms. I have soft and hard maple trees and some elm. I also thought about buying the firewood bundles at the grocery. The wood chips I get at the home depot stores just don't last long. Surely if I used seasoned split firewood it would last a lot longer than those small chips they sell. Anyone have an opinion?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Using Firewood for your Smoker Q

When using wood for a fire, I prefer if it came from my yard. I'm not that good at recognizing wood just by appearance but when it came from one of our trees, I know which. Oak and pecan are delightful for grilling/smoking, but apple and fig are my favorites of the woods we've tried.

o

Awesome! I just learned something new!!!

o

Cool. Welcome to Gardenweb, Shellie!

o

Thank you so much for the welcome!!! I do appreciate it!

o

I usually buy various wood CHUNKS not chips of Mesquite, Hickory, Cherry, Apple woods.
Many years ago when I was in Southern California I was able to get Grape Vine cuttings that was really nice for flavor also.

About the only trees we have near us is Pine which is unusable for smoking.
But bags of wood Chunks last quite awhile and it is nice to have the selection of various flavors, plus the wood is nicely dried and just the right size.

I buy a Lump Charcoal from our local grocery store that is made for them by a place called "Nature's Grilling" it is a perfect blend of good hardwoods.
"Ebony, Limoncillo, Tenaza, Hueso de tigre, Mezquite" woods in nice large lumps, last a long time, starts easy, burns at up to 900 degrees and its cheap to boot, I usually get a 6.6lb bag for $4.50.