Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
twinkle837

How to Choose Grout OR, Kill Me Now!

Twinkle837
9 years ago

Hi all! I have spent the better part of this week in a meltdown over grout. You see, grout was the one thing I thought I had all chosen and put to bed. The decision that was done and nothing to worry about! I'm an artist in real life, how hard could it be, right?

OMG!! The perfect color turned out to be a nightmare color and thankfully my contractor only did a little to let me decide whether or not to move forward. Needless to say, everything is on hold and I have literally bought 8 bags of grout trying to figure out the right one and I'm still not thrilled with anything.

The first grout (the one that we stopped) was Custom's Light Smoke. The sample held up to my tile looked fantastic and disappeared which is exactly what I wanted. Well, when it was mixed up and put on in a bigger area, I could tell almost immediately it was probably going to be an issue because there was too much warmth in it and the tone was off (a little red actually). Looked awful and you could see it a mile away -- it actually doesn't look as bad in the photo I am attaching as it does in real life. It also dried very light and when it dried, it was definitely better but it's a no go at this point. Next I tried Tec's Light Smoke because it had a slight grey to it on the sample. It was very close to the Custom one so I should have known better. Yeah, no go. Same issue if not even worse. Since then I've moved onto Tec's Mocha out of desperation (awful and again, what is with the red in all of these grout browns?). You can see from the list below I have tried quite a few...

I would love your opinions or suggestions and if anyone can answer my questions I would be very appreciative.