Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
walkerlife_gw

Shower/tub fixtures

Walkerlife
10 years ago

I will try to make this as clear as possible, but I have no plumbing knowledge.

I'm trying to figure out what I need in terms of two alcove tub/showers. I know I need the round control lever to turn it on/off(hold/cold), the tub faucet, and I would like to buy a handheld with slidebar. I guess my question is....it seems that the tub/shower combos come with controls, tub faucet, and fixed shower head. Do I just buy this knowing that I will not use the fixed showerhead, and replace it with the handheld with slide bar?

Also, for a shower stall, if I want to purchase a handheld with slide bar, do I just purchase the control separately?

I'm looking at the moen banbury line and the moen 3867 slide bar ( http://m.homedepot.com/p/MOEN-4-Function-Handshower-with-Slide-Bar-in-Chrome-3867/202221143?cm_mmc=shopping-_-googleads-_-pla-_-202221143&skwcid&kwd=&ci_sku=202221143&ci_kw=&ci_gpa=pla&ci_src=298346236)

Thanks for any help!

Comments (7)

• anna_in_tx
    10 years ago

For the shower, you would just then buy the valve trim and valve, either Moentrol or posi-temp - there are pros and cons that you can research here or on other plumbing forums. The cartridge that fits inside the valve comes with the valve trim.

For the shower/tub, sometimes it is cheaper to buy the set even if you don't use the shower head. But you can buy the separate valve trim/valve, tub spout w/diverter and hand shower/bar. You can mix the different Moen styles or even buy different brands. The valve trim must match the brand and valve type.

You will need to buy the tub drain assembly, cover and stopper. These will need to be matched up based on the type of stopper you choose.

I needed a longer tub spout so I ended up combining a Kohler tub spout, Delta valve trim to fit over the pre-existing valve, and a Grohe handshower (off of ebay).