Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jardinista_gw

changing shower head

jardinista
11 years ago

Just wondering...Can I change the shower head in my bathroom,realistically. I'm not a plumber or anything close,but I can follow any directions. The shower was installed about 7 years ago and about a week ago,water pressure decreased dramatically!,only in the shower. Town water inspector coming out today,but think I know what he's going to say. Clogged shower head. Ok--so if it is?? Can I do this myself with instr. from supply store and directions that may come with it? Would give me a great sense of accomplishment. Thanks,Jardinista

Comments (4)

• williamsem
    11 years ago

I'm no expert, but you should be able to do this fairly easily. Assuming you just need a new head. I would start by watching some videos on Home Depot, or Lowes, or other trusted site. They make it easy, give good overviews, and only take a few minutes. If you don't understand something, google it and link to a plumbing site. Pick out your new head and read the instructions. You might need some special tape, but it's very inexpensive.

It's been a long time since I did this, but I don't recall needing much, maybe just a wrench?

If you need to also change out the shower arm, that's a little more complicated. I haven't done that, but I would guess it requires making sure it is drained first. Probably not hard at all, but a little more involved.

• herring_maven
    11 years ago

jardinista: "The shower was installed about 7 years ago and about a week ago,water pressure decreased dramatically!,only in the shower."

The problem could be in the shower head. As, or perhaps more, likely, it is in a filter/trap right before the mixer. Some scale broke loose from the upstream pipes and clogged that filter. Most modern shower components put a filter there, actually two filters: one each for hot and cold incoming lines.