Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimf1117

master bath layout 16'5" x 8' need help

JimF1117
9 years ago

I am asking for layout ideas for complete MB renovation. The current vanity (almost 7'2" long) is the only thing I would consider saving, but even then I want a new top. The toilet can be easily be placed anywhere along the entry wall without affecting the floor joists which run lengthwise. I haven't decided shower size, closet size/location (it could even extend closet into the adjacent attic), tub size or style, or if I want a shorter double sink vanity to provide more room for the shower or tub. This is my first try at renovating my home (or anything), but at least I have found (but not yet contracted with) a great builder.

Comments (18)

• JimF1117
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The room dimensions are 15'5" by 8.' Sorry about the typo, The shower pipes and drain are currently along the wall/corner with the vanity and attic wall. When I decide the shower size and closet location, I have to decide towel bar location. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

This post was edited by JimF1117 on Sun, Dec 14, 14 at 11:43

• lotteryticket
    9 years ago

Will a 5' tub be big enough? If you want a longer one consider putting the toilet by the shower as you will need 36" for the toilet. And 5' seems a little small for a tub but generous for a shower.

• weedyacres
    9 years ago

What do you like about the current layout and what's problematic? What's your list of must-haves and do-not-wants? Do you want a 2-person shower? Is an enclosed toilet room important to you? Is your closet space sufficient? etc.

It's easier to come up with a solution if we know more about the problem we're trying to solve.

• JimF1117
    Original Author
    9 years ago