Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ehjoslin

Newbie here - please critique my MB plan

dragonfly08
9 years ago

Hi. It has been a while since I've been on the forums... we did a complete kitchen reno ~3 years ago and this forum was a Godsend. We are now doing an addition to our home which would include a new master bedroom and bath. We have plans that were drawn up by the architect and I am really only now looking at them since work will begin within the next few weeks.

We are planning on a freestanding soaker tub and putting most of our "extras" in the shower (rainhead, steamer, etc). As I review the current layout on the plan, I have a few thoughts and concerns:

1. Placement of toilet in between vanity and shower. Is this location ideal? I would imagine we would have to put a low-wall along the shower to make it appear separate?

2. Approx measurements of the shower is 42"x88". Is this too big to be comfortable? We would like the shower to be for 2, though we will likely not go with shower heads at both ends. Would a large rainhead be enough or is this simply too large? Any other concerns regarding size?

3. I notice lack of storage (in terms of a closet) inside the bathroom. No specific linen closet for the master suite (versus on 2nd floor where rest of the bedrooms are located), though the master closet is nearby.

This is our first venture into bath remodeling/design and I would appreciate any input/critique/suggestions anyone can offer!