Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dkotov

Converting landry room/1/2 bath to a full bath? Cost?

Denitza Kotov
11 years ago

Hello, I need some serious advice since I am a total newbie to remodeling.

We are living in Bay Area, CA. Our house is 1950 ranch - 3b 1 1/2 bath. The Landry room has a separate toilet w/door and sink, a door that goes outside to the backyard - washer/dryer stackable and a separate space with a door for a furnace and water heater and another door going to the kitchen. Our plan is to convert that room in small bathroom - no tub just shower as a separate room and W/D outside.

Not sure from where to start and how much this would cost.

My initial plan is to move the furnace under the roof and put small instant water heater to use their space. How much that part of the project would cost?

Then close the two doors to the outside and kitchen, put a wall in the middle of laundry room and build a small bathroom. I don�t think there will be a lot of moving of the plumbing since the toilet and sink are facing each other and the shower can be installed there. However there will be some electrical work, gas lines etc. involved.

Thank you!

Comments (4)

• annkathryn
    11 years ago

I'm in the Bay Area as well and had similar work done as part of a larger remodel. Off the kitchen I had a laundry room with a door to a small half bath (toilet + pedestal sink), and in the adjoining garage I had a furnace and water heater. I bumped the laundry room into the garage, taking up some of the concrete slab, replaced the furnace with a smaller one (added a 2nd furnace for the 2nd floor in the attic upstairs), removed the water heater and added a tankless heater outside. With the additional length gained by the laundry room in the garage, I was able to create a full bath from the half, adding a shower.

Hope that all makes sense - I can post the before/after plans if that would help.

Here are some numbers from my initial bid:

Remove toilet 185.22