Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mary3456

Remodeling a bathroom using tile

mary3456
10 years ago

I am planning a remodel of my small master bathroom and would like to use marble on the floor and counter for a timeless (and hi-end) look, but I color my hair and I suspect this might stain. I would also like to use white and light green glass mosaic tile on the shower walls, but I'm not sure what to use on the shower floor. If I use marble on the shower floor, I'm sure the "look" would be more unified and might make the room seem larger, but I worry about stains from water and products. On the other hand, the glass tile I would like to use is very thin, and I worry about using that on a floor.

Any advice would be appreciated!

Comments (5)

• cardinal94
    10 years ago

The disclaimer: I'm not an expert, but have some experience with different tile.

I would worry about stains on the marble, especially in the shower. Don't think you'd want to use the glass on the floor because it would be slippery. Unless maybe you use a mat on top, but then that defeats the purpose of a pretty floor!

Is there another bathroom in the house you can use for hair coloring?

Maybe someone will answer that knows more.

• Olychick
    10 years ago

There are some very pretty bathrooms that have been posted here using marble look tile. I don't think I'd risk using natural stone in the bathroom where you're using hair dye. I'd also find a stone look tile for the shower floor that coordinates with the glass tile you love. Glass tile on the floor would be very slick and if it's thin, doesn't seem it would be durable enough.

Here is a link to some of the threads about marble look tile:

Here is a link that might be useful: Search for marble look tile

• mary3456
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the replies!