Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
petepie_gw

Flow restrictor?

petepie
10 years ago

I have a new clubmaster showerhead and am trying to figure out if the flow restrictor is just the little rubber black o-ring or if it is also the white plastic piece beyond the o-ring. The white plastic piece is very firmly in there and I don't want to break the showerhead trying to force it. Any tips? Thanks.

Comments (9)

• MongoCT
    10 years ago

The restrictor is usually a white plastic piece. You'll have to remove the debris screen to get to it.

• petepie
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Mongo,
    Thanks for the fast reply!

• Babka NorCal 9b
    10 years ago

We are in CA and it took brute force to remove the restrictor. We also took out the o-ring. Left the strainer in. Ours is Grohe.

Someone, somewhere had to assemble these parts, and if they went in, they can and WILL come out. Percervere! Its worth it! Our shower valve only allows 2.5 GPM, and I want ALL of that weenie pressure I can get.

-Babka

• lee676
    10 years ago

I used to have this same showerhead. You'll need a pair of pinnose pliers. The flow restrictor is that flowery looking plastic thing with a thin round rubber o-ring near the perimeter. You'll probably crush the thing in the process of removing it.

• enduring
    10 years ago

Faucetguy, great picture on your link.

I have to ask where these regulators are located? Is it in the shower head? or is it in the rough-in?