Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bashful47

Toilet Recommendations

bashful47
9 years ago

I am a California resident (DROUGHT WORRIES)requesting your assistance in trying to decide on the best toilet to purchase for a bathroom remodel. California currently requires all toilets to be 1.28gpf efficient. My plumber states that TOTO is the way to go--claims he has few service calls on TOTO toilets. My bathroom/kitchen appliance consultant states that American Standard products are now state of the art and many plumbers are not current on all the upgrades that have been made. He referred me to this website (http://www.allianceforwaterefficiency.org) which delineate the best MAP figures. I am so confused. I am looking for a one piece,skirted toilet with good 'WHOOSH" (flush) power. Your feedback is appreciated.

Comments (10)

• lee676
    9 years ago

I have the 1.28gpf Toto Drake 2 and it flushes very well; it uses two large outlets to send lots of water swirling down the sides rather than the usual tiny holes around the rim. I would have liked a larger area covered by water, but this area is never very big on a 1.28gpf. The Drake II is 2-piece and not skirted, but both those features are on the Carlyse II model that's otherwise the same. Toto has several others with the same basic flush setup but different styling.

Have never seen the AS installed so can't compare them.

• suzanne_sl
    9 years ago

Also a CA resident, I can recommend Caroma dual flush toilets. We used them a lot on a visit to Australia (where they're made) nearly 15 years ago and thought, "Why don't we have these at home?" About 7 years ago (?) we installed them in both our bathrooms and haven't regretted it for a moment. Caroma is even more widely available now than it was just a few years ago.