Return to the Bathrooms Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Mesh markings on new honed marble hex tile

Posted by kristinag (My Page) on
Mon, Oct 14, 13 at 15:33

I am new to this, but am hoping to get some advice on my tile dilemma. I recently ordered 2 inch hex tile in honed marble from the builder depot. A tile setter has placed the tile, but there are markings from the mesh of the sheet that was in top of the other during packaging. The mesh was covered by plastic sheets, but that didn't keep it from transferring to the tile below. I have tried water and a light scotch bright pad to remove it without luck. The company admits to having heard of such a problem but just goes on to say the tile setters clean it to remove the markings prior to sealing it. My tile setter would like me to clean them with mineral spirits then rinse then with water. He has never seen this happen before, and so is guessing along with me as what to try. He doesn't plan on sealing the tile until after grouting because we are using a light grey sanded grout. Any thoughts or ideas are very much appreciated. I don't want to ruin my new floors before they are even in!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Mesh markings on new honed marble hex tile

I am not an expert, but I would ask the supplier for cleaning recommendations first since they admitted they have heard of the problem. I would start with the most gentle method first - maybe just simple soap, then maybe alcohol, acetone, then mineral spirits. I wonder if a magic eraser would work? Regardless of what you try, I would try cleaning the marks off some pieces that haven't been installed yet, just in case.

Hopefully someone with more experience will chime in.

Best of luck to you!!

o

I could be that once the thinset is totally dry the pattern will disappear.