Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abbabug

Help with bathroom redesign ?

abbabug
9 years ago

We built our house 15 years ago. For the life of me, I don't know why we agreed to a soaker tub in the master ensuite. Never used. Time to remove it.

Here's the original layout.....

The goal is to lose the soaker tub and replace existing single shower as a double. We were originally thinking of moving the toilet over to the end of the vanity by the windows but alas that may prove to be an expensive if not impossible task because of the joists.

Hmmm.... Can't figure out how to upload 2 photos....

Comments (13)

• abbabug
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here's where I suspect the placement of the joists is not in our favourite regarding toilet move....

We have open ceiling outside the master bedroom, so I think the double joist is the supporting beam....I'm no construction expert. So that means the floor joists are perpendicular to that beam?

My thoughts are to leave toilet as is.
    Have a smaller vanity .....say 48"
    Remove WIC indentation into bathroom to place double shower there.
    Smaller window.
    Replace existing shower space as WIC indentation.

• Karenseb
    9 years ago

Maybe you could put the shower in the tub space, put in a smaller, short wide window up high in the shower and put a second vanity in the shower space.

• abbabug
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Karenseb, that's what we were planning for the double shower and window. I was going to replace the WIC shelves (used for the new shower) at the old shower location.

Just wondering if anyone has other suggestions.

• dekeoboe
    9 years ago

Can you move the toilet to where the current shower is located?

• abbabug
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Dekeoboe, I don't know if that move is possible with plumbing having to cross joists. If this move is possible, how should the rest of the bathroom be changed?

• palimpsest
    9 years ago