Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jillalameda

Best Way to Warm an Existing Bathroom

jillalamedat
13 years ago

In retrospect I wish I had installed radiant heat in the floor, but too late now. I have read here about a couple of approaches to warming a bathroom: a heated fan, and a towel warmer. My ceiling is about 9-1/2 feet; would a heated fan work well? Does it require extra electrical power, or can it just replace an unheated existing fan? I like the idea of warm towels, but how well do towel warmers heat the room, and do they require special wiring? Also, I'd like whichever method we choose to be on a timer so the bathroom is warm when I take my morning shower. Advice?

Comments (15)

• Philip Labe
    13 years ago

I think one of these is an excellent choice. You can probably use an existing circuit since it only draws 8 amps.

http://www.cadetco.com/show_product.php?prodid=1021

• daytona1
    13 years ago

I have a large master bathroom with 10 foot ceiling. I have a oil heater or oil filled radiator heater($50) that I have plugged into a indoor timer. I set the timer to turn the heater on about 45 minutes before I get up in the mornings. I also override the timer and turn the heater on about 45 minutes before I bathe at night.

• busybee3
    13 years ago

we debated how to have extra heat in our bath and decided to go with a towel warmer. i had decided i didn't want radiant heat because we also use some rugs in the bathroom and so debated between the fan and towel warmer. decided to go with towel warmer because of added benefit of warm towels!(haven't used it yet tho) our model cames with plug or can be hard-wired. keep in mind though that the price increases significantly when you choose a higher wattage towel warmer.
    the higher wattage models are described as being towel warmers/radiant heaters by some of the towel warmer companies.

• jillalamedat
    Original Author
    13 years ago