Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zeitgast

Painting cast iron sink?

Sms
10 years ago

Hi

We are putting in a trough sink in the kids bathroom at our beach shack. We chose the cast iron Kohler Brockway which comes with a black underside.

I've seen lots of great painted ones on the web (see link below) and was wondering if anyone has any experience painting cast iron sinks or tubs. I've heard that oil-based paints work well and also heard that powder coating works. Any tips/advice would be much appreciated.

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (30)

• enduring
    10 years ago

Very cute sink. Call Kohler. They have always been helpful when I've had questions about their products. Otherwise I have no experience with painting cast iron. Years ago I lived in a house that had the outside of the claw foot tub painted.

• Sms
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Good idea thx

• Sms
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Good idea enduring. I just notice they have some pictures of painted Brockways on their website. Thx

• enduring
    10 years ago

You are very welcome :) I bet there is some paint that is specially useful for these conditions. I would think that the paint would have to tolerate quick temp changes. Epoxy paint???

• Nancy in Mich
    10 years ago

zeitgast, please post the answers you find, as well as your results. My bathroom with a Brockway is a year or more in the future, but I am deep into planning already. I can't wait to see yours!

• vdboschbe
    6 years ago

Did anyone actually painted theirs and can tell us what paint to use? I absolutely love the Brockway and if the funds permit, will buy one for the kids bathroom but want it in a vibrant colour.

• Nancy in Mich
    6 years ago

Nope, I had to change my plans and can't fit in the Brockway (and I still have not done the renovation).

• enduring
    6 years ago

I still love ya Nancy!

• ttogml1973
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago