Return to the Bathrooms Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is Kerdi-Board Overkill for Tub Surround

Posted by Rareindigo (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 28, 12 at 22:58

Thought I had settled on poly under Wonderboard for my tub surround which will be tiled from tub to ceiling. Guy at the tile store said I'd be happier with Kerdi-board because its better at waterproofing and easier to work with. True? Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is Kerdi-Board Overkill for Tub Surround

I am no expert and there are several that can comment. But, what about cement board on studs, then a topical like hydroban, then tile? Skipping the poly because you don't want a waterproof membrane on both sides of the board.

o

Agree with enduring.

"Easiest and better performing" would probably be HydroBan over cement board. More expensive, and maybe slightly more difficult due to never having worked with it before, would be the Kerdi Board. KB is fine...but for a one-off project, the things you'd have to buy...sheets of board, Kerdi Band, etc...it might not be economically efficient.

Most economical would indeed be the poly behind cement board. But topical membranes like Hydroban and Kerdi do have a performance advantage over a membrane located behind the tile backer board, especially when it comes to detailing the poly to tub flange.

I think Kerdi Board is an advantage for demanding designs. Most tub surrounds are fairly straight forward.

o

As a DIYer, my favorite (balancing economy, ease of application and promise of success) is standard kerdi over drywall.

o

Mongo, will you tell me how to seal the bottom of the board with a hydroban application? Kerdi is making more sense to me, with kerdi fix, then tile/caulk (in a drawing you did on the remodeling forum...) But, we will already have the hydroban for a shower install. So, how do you "meet" the hydrobanned cement board with the tub flange? (and then, I assume you still do the tile/caulk like you do with kerdi membrane)

o