Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
twingle_gw

Bathtubs for taller people

twingle
11 years ago

I am renovating a family bathroom and would like to replace the old tub with a longer tub. My DH is 6'7 and my 4 boys are young (all under 12 yrs old) but are all off the charts for height. My 12 yr old is 5'9. I don't want jets. I'm looking online and a little confused. How do I find the right one?? WHat dimensions would I look for??? Thanks I'm a real newbie I appreciate your help.

Comments (10)

• live_wire_oak
    11 years ago

You should be looking at 66" tubs or 72" tubs. But this is not a simple replacement project. It's a complete bath redo, and you'll need to budget to replace most of what exists currently. Where do you plan to carve out the additional room needed from? Is there a closet at the end of the current tub? What about the width? Longer tubs are also usually wider. That may mean that it will now be too close to the toilet or vanity. Do your guys even actually use a tub? Or do they prefer to to shower? Might a larger shower only be more functional?

Post a layout drawing for better suggestions as to how to fit in what you need here.

• twingle
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the thoughts. Yes, we are a bath family. The boys like to relax or 'swim' in the tub. We are squaring off the back of our house and gaining 10 ft in the bathroom. So it will be a complete gut job with all new fixtures.

• mydreamhome
    11 years ago

Are you planning a standard alcove tub just in a longer size or are you looking for something more along what you see in most jetted tubs (but without the jets)?