Return to the Bathrooms Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tile Quandry

Posted by Vickygg (My Page) on
Thu, Sep 13, 12 at 16:11

Hi....I have a small master bath stuck in the 70's. It has wall tiles that are harvest gold (which bears a striking resemblance to Ben Moore Chestertown Buff) on two walls (the tub surround, and under the window) and two walls that are a mottled white and gold tile (behind the toilet and around the vanity. I was going to reglaze the tub and all the tiles white; get a new floor and find a fabulous wallpaper but.........I have been seeing an awful lot of gold and gray lately and was wondering about keeping the gold tiles and painting the bathroom a rich gray color like Chelsea Gray. Is this gold tile even worth decorating around?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tile Quandry

Before I even read your post, my first thought was that you need gray to go with the gold tile. I think the gold tile looks really good, actually. Could you redo just the speckled tile, and work around the gold? I envision a large-scale gray tile on the floor, and some cool wallpaper. Are the tub and toilet the same color? If so, it looks like they might look fine with the gold walls.

o
RE: Tile Quandry

Actually, I had to replace the toilet after this picture was taken. I replaced it with white. I was going to just re-glaze the tub white and keep the tile around the tub gold; but not a lot of paint colors look good with this color gold (other than the gray or black) so I too was thinking about a great wallpaper. Not sure if I want to continue to look at the gold/white color blocking but also not sure about the cookie cutter white bathrooms that everyone seems to be doing! I can't upload another picture yet for your viewing until I get some batteries for my camera! Thanks, Vicky

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!