Return to the Bathrooms Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Arghh! Quartz bathroom vanity top 5/8" too wide for cabinet

Posted by suel41452 (My Page) on
Sun, Sep 15, 13 at 14:24

I bought a 61 x 22 inch St. Paul stone effects "Oasis" quartz vanity top (.75 inch thick quartz) with undermounted double sinks to replace a double sink top.
After I removed the existing top, I discovered the cabinet I'm planning to put it on is actually 59 3/8" wide x 21". The cabinet is attached to the right wall & back wall, so there would be a 1 5/8" overhang of the top on the left side instead of 1".
I don't care that it's not perfectly centered, you'd never notice the way the bathroom is. But wondering if:
1. the double sinks being off-center would make them impossible to align to existing double-sink plumbing?
2. The extra 5/8 inch overhang would cause the top to be unstable?
Thanks for any advise, obviously I'm a total newbie!! My husband wants the bathroom to get back to normal ASAP!
PS -planning for a plumber to do the install

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Arghh! Quartz bathroom vanity top 5/8" too wide for cabinet

Hey Sue,

My DH (My plumber-LOL), says it shouldn't be a problem at all. He says chances are that your new drains wouldn't be exactly where your old ones were anyways, so the drain would have had to be cut and modified anyways.

As for the unstable top, aren't you planning on attaching the top to something anyways? AND, I don't think that tiny ~ 1/2" on one side would make much difference on a 61" long counter!

o

Raehelen - I'm feeling relieved after reading your reply, thanks! Must be super handy to have a plumber husband!!!

Yes, the top will be attached to the old cabinet with sealant which has four sides. I just thought an extra overhang of 5/8" might cause the quartz top to have some sort of problem, since it's supposed to overhang 1" not 1 5/8".

o