Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
woodeye3_gw

Hydronic infloor heat in bathroom

Woodeye3
10 years ago

I'm preparing my master Bath-Bedroom-Closet area and would like to use water heat in the floor of the new bathroom. I was wondering how thick the cement floor must be to embed the 1/2" Pex tubing. I have removed all the flooring in the bath area to expose the tops of the floor joists. The total thickness of the sub and finished floor in adjoining rooms is 1-1/4" plus carpet and pad. Is 1-1/4" concrete adequate for 1/2" Pex. I will be putting tile over the concrete and would like to heat the shower floor as well. What is the proper spacing for the Pex tubing through out the bathroom.
Thanks Jeff

Comments (8)

• geoffrey_b
    10 years ago

I'm not a pro at this, but I am a DIY Engineer.

For tile, you need to compute the deflection of the floor. Anotherwords, the depth of the floor joists, their span, and the space between joists determine how think the floor must be, without flexing. The John Bridge forum is a good place to get that info.

Do you want the PEX to be the primary heat source for the bathroom? If the room is already heated, I'd use electric mats to warm the floor.

• Woodeye3
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi Geoff thanks for responding
    Yes I'd like the pex to be the primary heat source for the room and I'm prepaired to lower the sub floor to between the joists to get a 1-1/4" mud bed. I'm just concerned that the 1/2" pex tubing (5/8od) will make the actual thickness of the mud bed, where the tubes are, will be only 5/8" or less.
    My floor joists are 2x10-12 spf' 16oc I'm going to go to the John Bridge site this evening.
    Thanks Jeff

• MongoCT
    10 years ago

Jeff, since this is DIY, what is the source for the hot water that will be circulated through the bathroom PEX? And what is the temp of that water?