Return to the Bathrooms Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Laying tile over concrete floor?

Posted by alst (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 29, 07 at 17:02

Hi, another bathroom tile question.

The bathroom we are finishing is in the basement of our house, and the floor is concrete. Can we install tile directly over the concrete, or does it need some kind of backing? I've never worked with tile before, so apologies in advance if this is a dumb question.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Laying tile over concrete floor?

Has your concrete been painted or sealed? If yes, it needs to be removed.

Are you planning ceramic tiles or "peel and stick"? If you plan on using ceramic, the mastic will be sufficient. If "peel and stick" I suggest a spreadable (via a notched trowel) adhesive, let it cure until tacky, then peel the backing from the tiles and install them. My reasoning is that your concrete floor will have some unevenness which will cause "peel and stick" flooring to have hollow spots when walking upon it and the adhesive will fill these.

Hope this helps.

o

Before you do anything else, try a very rudimentary test to see if moisture is coming through your slab.

Tape a 2' by 2' square of clear plastic to the floor. Seal all four edges of the plastic to the slab, duct tape is fine.

Leave it there for several days, a few weeks is better, and best is to have it there a few days after it has rained.

If water vapor is coming through the slab, the plastic will trap it and cause it to condense into liquid.

Once we get past that step, we can move forward.

However, I'll caution against mastic and instead recommend a modified thinset. Mastic is water soluble, and in the preceeding example, water vapor coming through the slab could essentially dissolve the mastic.

But again, let's address the possibility of water vapor first.

And by the way, this is not a dumb question.

Asking questions before you proceed is the smarter thing to do.

Best,

Mongo

o