Return to the Bathrooms Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Emergency shower grout question!

Posted by newbie33 (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 13, 12 at 17:02

Hello all,
I am a total newbie to the board and renovations, but have read the board sporadically while planning my tiny (8x5.5) bath reno in my condo and appreciate the collective wisdom here!

Here's my issue: Complete shower porcelain tile (floor/walls/ceiling) plus a border (glass mosaic with marble rope on either side) was installed Wed, grouted Thursday and sealed Friday. After grouting, looked great. After sealing, some of the grout looked darker (as if it were wet-but plumbing not hooked up so couldn't have been). Most (but not all) of dark places on shower floor, which is a 2x2 porcelain tile (on a sheet). Fan blowing 24/7 on tiles all weekend resulted in some of the dark patches clearing up but not all.

Discussed situation with contractor today (Mon), said he would address it. A few hours later he told me that he used sanded grout with an additive that did not require sealant all over on Thursday, but because he wanted to seal the glass mosaic, he used sealant everywhere on Friday. Said he thought it would just provide extra protection. Says now he doesn't understand why the dark spotting occurred but his fix was for shower floor, he dug out part of the original sanded with additive and replaced with unsanded grout, also with that additive that doesn't require sealer. He was not very clear about his fix for the dark spots on wall, sounds like he sanded them away? Now says no more sealer needed (due to that additive) and all is well.

I believe the brand grout used is Custom Building Products.

1. My novice take on this from reading this board is that the spotting occurred because of the rush to seal. Does that sound like the culprit to you?

2. Was his fix correct? Should I be asking him to do something else?