Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cluelesshomerepairer

Repairing Bathroom Plaster for Tiling

Hello,

I have a section of tiles and plaster fall off in the middle of bathroom bathtub area where the shower often sprays at. I've read through dozens of threads here, and am still unsure on the best thing to do, so I would like advice and confirmation. I have no experience what-so-ever with home repair.

In the picture of the damage, it looks like to me, from the back to the front: metal barbed wiring, some wood-like substance (lath?) plaster (the gray stuff), mortar (white stuff), and then the tiles.

Here's the procedure what I think should be done:
1. Clean out the area by removing loose tiles, mortar, and plaster by hitting it with a screwdriver by hand. Spray the area with water until it's almost dripping wet.
2. Apply SHEETROCK Brand Durabond 90. How many applications? What's the thickness of each application? How long should I wait between applications?
3. Apply a mortar. Is there a specific one I should get? What properties should it have? Something for use in wet areas, and to bond with Durabond?
4. Tile, grout, seal. (Don't know how to do any of that yet.)

Thank you for any advice!

Comments (13)

• GreenDesigns
    10 years ago

Plaster isn't waterproof. Tile isn't waterproof. And you've been spraying it with water. You have a failing system here. All of the walls around the bath need to be replaced entirely. As in a gut remodel of the plumbing as well. Or restrict yourself to only tub baths until such time as you can replace the entire structure.

• cluelesshomerepairer
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for your posting!

I understand that plaster, mortar, and tile is not waterproof, but that's how my the bathroom is. However, based on reading other posting on this forum, it seems that some plaster is waterproof (Durabond?), while some are not (Plaster of Paris).