Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newenglandsara2

glass tile ever okay on shower floor?

newenglandsara2
9 years ago

Hi there,

We are making tile choices for a remodel, and I love the look of colorful tiles on a shower floor! However, I don't want marble or other natural stone (I am not good with maintenance), and I have not seen any porcelain colorful tiles in colors that I like. I love many types of glass tiles, and sales people have had mixed things to say about glass on a shower floor. Some feel that it should be fine with just bare feet and light use. Others seem to feel worried about scratching and chipping. I would love input from this community. And if glass tile is ever okay for shower floors, are there certain types of glass that are better bets than others?

Thanks so much!

Sara

Comments (14)

• Babka NorCal 9b
    9 years ago

Too slippery? What size tiles are you considering? I suppose if the tiles were small and there were a lot of grout lines to help your feet grab...but I question the need to have the interest on the floor, rather than at eye level. When I look down, I see a cool linear shower drain. That does it for me. How would they (glass tiles) scratch or chip on the floor? What are you doing in the shower? hmmmmmmmm. ;-) Just put down something that will allow you to use a daily shower spray that will keep the tile from getting soap/water stains. I have porcelain, hard water, and after a year of using "clean shower" (there are similar daily sprays) I have never had to clean my shower. It looks like new.

-Babka

• lotteryticket
    9 years ago