Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
johnorange_gw

Beginning an Outdoor Shower

johnorange
10 years ago

I am beginning an outdoor shower project and welcome input. I'm currently building the cinder block inner wall.

Later I plan to make the outter wall from 4" limestone I have. I have not decided what if anything to finish out the inside. I could stucco it but I'm concerned about it being wet all the time and the effects of bleach cleaners. I'm also considering marble or ceramic tile or a graveled mortar layer...embedding gravel in a layer of mortar spread like stucco. This is my first project using mortar so I'm learning on square blocks before I begin the limestone which is natural and not as regular. So far so good!

This post was edited by johnorange on Thu, Jul 11, 13 at 11:02

Comments (21)

• rafor
    10 years ago

How cool! I've always wanted an outdoor shower and vow to eventually have a house that has one :)

• FmrQuahog
    10 years ago

That looks like a great start, John. We included an outdoor shower in the design of our upcoming build, and when it starts to take shape (probably not 'til October), I'll share a couple of pics. Our enclosure will not be masonry like yours; it will be fiber cement (to match the house).
    Good luck!

• johnorange
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the encouraging words. I live in SE Texas and really try to watch the humidity level in the house. I run dehumidifiers during the spring and fall when temperatures are mild and I don't have to run the air conditioner. Taking a shower inside subjects the bathroom to high humidity even running the vent fan. In the summer it's not uncommon to take several showers, one in the morning to refresh and wake up, one at noon before coming inside for lunch, and another in the evening. I'm looking forward to keeping all the sweat, grime, and steam outside!

• johnorange
    Original Author
    10 years ago