Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vetting_gw

Former DIYer turned handyman - need some help with an estimate

vetting
11 years ago

Im new to the business and just taking on some side jobs at the moment. Right now I've been just charging by the hour, but I dont know if Im getting paid what I should or charging to much for the overall project. For example, just finishing up on a 7x11 bathroom remodel and need to know what you would have charged. Just a ballpark figure is fine - just need to know if I'm inline with pricing.

Here is what as all done:

Demo - remove old shower pan and corner liner.

Remove old vanity and plumbing

Remove entire subfloor

Scrape texture off ceiling

Remove drywall from 2 walls

Shim joists and install new subfloor

Mud install new neo angle shower pan

Mud and lay hardi board

Install 12x12 tile in brick pattern on floor

Grout with epoxy grout

Move 3 plumbing vents

Replace vanity plumbing in the wall.

Restud wall for 46" medicine cabinet in load bearing wall

Frame wall area for shower door

Cut out old shower valve and sweat in new shower valve and copper

Install cement board in corner shower

2 coats of redgard water proofer

install double niche

Install 9x12 tile in shower with glass accent strip and tiled the niche.

Grout with epoxy grout

Skim coat ceiling, sand, prime, and paint. Smooth finish

Do drywall patches, sand, prime, and paint. Smooth finish

Install new electrical box and light above medicine cabinet

Install recessed medicine cabinet

Redo the drain plumbing for the shower.

Install double vanity

Install 2 faucets

Install toilet

Install vanity drain plumbing

Install 2 prehung doors

Cut and install cherry trim

I also did all of the material pickups except for the actual fixtures which were delivered.

Once I get a few responses, I'll post what I charged. I dont want to influence anyones replies

Thanks for helping out a new guy

Comments (13)

• xand83
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago