Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzan30

working with a cabinet maker?

suzan30
12 years ago

I think I have found a local cabinet maker to make the vanity of my dreams. I've never done this before. Can anyone advise me of things to be careful of to make sure that the end product is what I want?

Comments (5)

• nycbluedevil
    12 years ago

(1) First, think about materials. The bathroom gets moist so I would stay away from MDF and stick with wood that has a washable stained or painted finish. We did walnut stained rift white oak which goes really well with our creamy botticino marble. I posted pics of my bathrooms last week but don't know how to link to them (called pics of my new bathrooms I think)

(2) Second, consider drawers versus doors where you can and even under the sink, if you have to do doors, think about pull outs. It is so much easier to look at what you have stored from above than bending down to peer inside a cabinet.

(3) Third, think about what you are going to store in the various places to make sure that your drawers are deep enough. A six inch drawer space will give you only about 4" or so of height, so you need to make sure that your stuff will fit.

(4) I don't know whether this is single or double or what your measurements are, but for comparison, here is what we did. We had only 88" to work with for our double vanity and I wanted lots of drawers and TWO hampers--one for darks and one for lights (one of my best remodeling decisions. So, we did five banks--a 15" bank on the ends(with a top makeup drawer and hamper underneath each side) and in the middle (a bank of four drawers, with the bottom one at 12" deep). We did two 24" sink cabinets on either side of the middle bank with two pullouts. We also waited for the plumbing to be installed before letting them do the cutout for the plumbing so they would leave me maximum interior space under the sinks.