Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
formosalily

What's wrong in these pictures?

formosalily
16 years ago

I am stressed and frustrated........ after seeing what the contractor has done in the bathroom. I am no pro in bathroom remodeling, but thanks to this forum, I can tell when something is not done right - I see two issues with our contractor's installation:

1. The tile flange is not installed BEHIND the cement board to prevent water from falling down the side (we will use the tub for showering quite often).

{{gwi:1450319}} {{gwi:1450320}} {{gwi:1450321}}

2. Is it right for the tub to just sit right on the subfloor?

{{gwi:1450321}}

Please tell me if I am right or if I worry too much.

Many thanks for help me detect any installation problems now before it is too late...

Comments (11)

• budge1
    16 years ago

I'm sure the experts will weigh in here, but I find it astounding that you who you say are no pro and me (1st time bath remodeller), can see and understand that the cement board needs to go over the flange. How is it that the person doing the work - the supposed professional- couldn't see that.

My alcove tub has also just been installed. He put the cement board in up til about 2 feet above the edge of the tub. I'm assuming when he comes back on Monday, he will continue the cement board down over the flange.

• bill_vincent
    16 years ago

Throw this numbnuts stupid ignorant fly-by-night SOB out on his A$$, and don't give him a dime!!

Is that clear enough? This jerk is obviously so numb that I wouldn't even allow him back to fix his screwups!!

• formosalily
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Bill, I could really use your advice for the following questions:

1. What materials need to go between the base of the tub and the plywood subfloor?

2. The contractor told me he will install tiles right on the cement board. Is that right?