Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosiegolden

Bathroom Reno: Toilet Choice; Tiling Walls; Wainscoting Height

rosiegolden
9 years ago

Hello,

This is my first time posting here although I have been reading for months. You all are a super-informed bunch!

We are about to embark on a gut-the-bathroom renovation of our circa 1953 family bathroom. We think it was retiled in the 70s with the iridescent brown wall and shower tile.

The general plan is:

*Classic white subway tile in shower and on the walls, with black trim
*Black and white flooring - either basketweave or hexagons
*White cast-iron tub
*IKEA Godmorgon vanity in black/brown with white ceramic sink top
*Remove that enormous closet on the left and replace with a linen tower. Tentative: IKEA Godmorgon high cabinet, in black-brown. The jury is out on this - we are also considering the (more bulky) Kraftmaid tall linen cabinet in Dove White. It might be a better choice in terms of durability and generous storage - but it would stick out 21" into the room (as opposed to the Godmorgon's 11"), which eats up valuable floor and visual space.

The overall goal is a very classic look with a little bit of modern tone as well. This room is used by two teenage boys and the occasional guest (including e.g. dinner guests), so it needs to be both durable and reasonably attractive.

My questions at this time are:

*Toilet: We renovated our master bath last year and are super-happy with the Kohler Cimarron comfort-height toilet in there. No clogs all year! For this bath, however, we want a standard-height toilet with an elongated bowl which is relatively petite and like the Cimarron, does not clog. Any recommendations? We know Toto is well-rated but would like to stick with Kohler if possible.

*Tiling walls: We plan to tile around the toilet and behind the vanity. Do we need to tile the wall on the right as well? Would it look strange if we didn't?