Return to the Bathrooms Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
amerec vs mr steam vs thermasol steam shower

Posted by panchoandlefty (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 13, 12 at 9:33

Trying to choose a steam shower for a 4 x 5 shower remodel. Our contractor did not offer many options. I think most clients just take whatever he offers without question.

For better or worse, I'm a compulsive researcher. As I look into generators, I see several manufacturers with interesting features. Amerec seems OK, but not on top of my list.

Is there a real industry leader (or lagger) among steam generators? Does one manufacturer stand out?

I am leaning toward Thermasol, but I don't know if they are the best fit or if they just have the best marketing. They appear to have the easiest install, low-maintenance features, and a lifetime warranty.

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: amerec vs mr steam vs thermasol steam shower

From the research I've done, I think Thermasol is the best.

o

I went with the Thermasol pro-series and found that it was pretty easy to install without making major changes to the hard plumbing. They have a good reputation as they created the original steam generator in the 50s.

The lifetime warranty was a big selling point for me also, especially since I do all of my own installation work, but I haven't had any problems at all in the last two years.

o

We had the same dilemma when choosing the steamer. I always thought steam is steam but there is a difference when experiencing steam. We went to couple of places and one place had Mr. Steam and ThermaSol installed in the same shower. Once you see the construction or both you will go with Thermasol. Also they have the feature on the RED generator that makes the difference when using it. You do not get the burst of steam which is nice and relaxing to have.

o