Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
panchoandlefty_gw

amerec vs mr steam vs thermasol steam shower

panchoandlefty
11 years ago

Trying to choose a steam shower for a 4 x 5 shower remodel. Our contractor did not offer many options. I think most clients just take whatever he offers without question.

For better or worse, I'm a compulsive researcher. As I look into generators, I see several manufacturers with interesting features. Amerec seems OK, but not on top of my list.

Is there a real industry leader (or lagger) among steam generators? Does one manufacturer stand out?

I am leaning toward Thermasol, but I don't know if they are the best fit or if they just have the best marketing. They appear to have the easiest install, low-maintenance features, and a lifetime warranty.

Thanks

Comments (98)

• Elliot Zaks
    8 years ago

Does anyone have experience with a steamcore steam generator ?

• PRO
    By Any Design Ltd.
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

Elliot. My thoughts in bold.

Saunacore http://www.saunacore.com/wp-content/uploads/Steamcore-Pro-Series-Manual.pdf

STEAM ROOM:

• If you are using an existing shower or bathtub, make sure that it is completely sealed right up to the ceiling.
    • Chances that an existing tub or shower has vapour proofing are slim to none
    • The ceiling and walls must be tiled or covered with water resistant material.
    • Yes
    • If you are building a steam room, talk to someone that has experience with the construction of steam rooms.
    • Someone with five years experience
    • Steam rooms must be constructed differently from any other type of room.
    • They don't have too but they should be

STEAM ROOM REQUIREMENTS:

1.) Steam room must be completely enclosed, with full walls, door, floor and ceiling.
    Yes - put that is just part of it. The waterproofing and vapour proofing are key to success.

2.) It is recommended that a gasketed door is used for heat sealing and steam containment.