Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
original_divastyle

The Things I Worry About...

Mick Mick
9 years ago

I am finally finishing up my bathroom remodels. The only things remaining are hardware, a new widespread faucet (the one I have is kinda sucky) and a new toilet for the guest bathroom. My bathroom budgets are shoestrings. However, I don't want it to look like it. So, I took the "slow and cheap" route. I scour clearance sales and websites, use coupons, sell stuff on eBay, negotiate and make hard decisions. I do it more because I enjoy the thrill of the chase and I just like doing projects like this.

I am going to do a Toto Acquia (or probably the Drake). I have a Dalton in my master and it is great!

That leaves the hardware for both bathrooms. I narrowed it down to Polished Nickel finishes. So, for the last year I have been "collecting" pieces from the Pottery Barn Mercer collection. I have the double knob, a glass shelf, train rack, and toilet paper holder. I am not going to do towel racks in the master bathroom (which is ti-ny).

For the other bathroom, I obsessed over the Restoration Hardware collection. I decided to hit up the local Restoration Hardware outlet to see what I could find there. I. Hit. The. Mother. Lode. I found every collection that I wanted in Polished Nickel. Score? Yeah. No. No matched set.

I asked the girl to look in the back. Nada. At 55% off of retail, I was determined to leave with something. So, after serious deliberation I bought the pieces...I ended up getting pieces from the Lugarno and Asbury collections. I am going to keep checking the outlet for toilet paper holders from either collection. Or....I might just pick up one from Pottery Barn.

My mother rolled her eyes and sighed. Apparently "no one will even notice." I guess this is all psychological for me. For once I want to have something that is "coordinated", well thought out and perfect like all of the bloggers (and you guys).