Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
treasuretheday

To heat or not to heat the floor? Help me answer the question!

treasuretheday
12 years ago

Hi,

We have just started demo today on our master bath remodel. (Bye, bye el-cheapo 4" builder standard white tile!) We have chosen, but not yet ordered, porcelain tile for the floor. We had not planned to heat the floor but it does sound like people here are pretty happy with their heated floors so you've got me thinking...!

We live in Michigan so the winters can get pretty cold and I think a warm floor would feel sooo nice at 5:30 am!

Since I'm brand new to this idea, I don't know what types there are to consider or what questions to ask to decide what would work best for us. Our room is about 15 1/2' x 10' with a separate tub, corner shower and enclosed water closet. The open floor area will be approx. 7' x 7', although not an exact square. Could someone give me an idea of what we can expect to spend?

Are you glad that you heated your floor? What do you know now that you wish you had known before?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Comments (46)

• weedyacres
    12 years ago

We've remodeled our entire house and I have to say my single favorite decision we made was to heat the tile floors in the bathroom, then the kitchen, then the breakfast nook and sunroom (can you tell we got addicted?). It makes a huge difference, especially for those of us that don't wear shoes in the house. No rude awakening in the morning when your sleepy feet hit the bone-jarringly cold tile first thing.

Call it addicted. Or spoiled. But if we moved into a house with unheated tile, I'd give serious consideration to ripping out the tile and putting in new, just to install heat below it. So yeah, definitely glad we heated our floors. (Note: we didn't do it in our other 2 1/2 bathrooms, foyer, or mudroom.)