Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neesie_gw

vessel sink - where's the overflow?

neesie
15 years ago

I am looking to buy a faucet for a vessel sink. I am new to this and somewhat confused. I never thought about the overflow before and I'm not too concerned since this vessel will be in the powder room for handwashing, mainly.

Even though I don't see a purpose for stopping the water I would like to have a pop up drain. The ones I've seen for sale are listed as "Umbrella Pop Up Drain for Overflow".

What does this mean? And if I am going to recess my vessel slightly into the vanity how high should I have my faucet from the rim of the vessel?

Comments (9)

• pepperidge_farm
    15 years ago

A sink can have, or may not have an overflow- a separate area near the top of the sink where water can drain if the sink is too full or filling too high.

If your sink has an overflow, the drain you use needs to be able to hook-up to it so it can function correctly- as is the one you mentioned- for Overflow.

If your sink does not have an overflow, you need a drain that does not have that opening to connect!

Not sure if there is a standard height, they do vary, but you can choose a height that seems appealing in combination with the height you are setting the sink.

• mileaday None
    15 years ago

I have just purchased 2 vessel sinks without overflows to use in my master bath renovation. I wasn't sure about not having overflows and posted a question about my concerns. Someone suggested making sure that the faucet is compatible which I did. The faucet that I am getting is a Kohler and they told me to order the extra part which is less than $10.

• mosaic_king
    15 years ago