Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
threeapples

Bill V and others, is a metal mesh embedded in cement-like...

threeapples
11 years ago

Material as a sub floor for one-inch thick marble the wrong underlayment for a foyer and hallway setting? The tile setter put this metal sheet mesh down for the areas beneath all our limestone and marble floor tile last year. He is putting thin set on top and then, obviously, the tiles. Someone in building a home forum suggested this was not the right thing. Why not? What's better?

Comments (43)

• Tim
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm not going to say it's wrong - and I'm not a professional tile layer. But I did a lot of research when planning my 2 marble bathroom floors and used Ditra on both.

My 2nd floor bath has 3/4 ply glued/screwed to the joists, and then a special 9 ply Russian birch 3/8" ply screwed just to the 3/4" ply, not 'through' with about 1000 randomly placed 1" screws in the 80 sq ft. The 3/8 Russian ply is purportedly as strong as 5/8" normal ply.

Anyhow - then thinset with Nuheat cables, then Ditra, then white thinset / marble 12x12 marble tile. Hasn't shown a hint of a problem in 5 years and it's on the 2nd floor of a 100 year old house with a laundry room right next door vibrating the joists.

Basement is the same setup but directly on the slab.

Ditra isolates minor shifting in your structure from the tile. Bottom line metal mesh has been used for decades and likely will for decades to come but isolating systems like Ditra are gaining popularity as more installers get comfortable with it.

• millworkman
    11 years ago

Tim that 9 ply Russian Birch I believe to not be exterior glue and I would be concerned about it delaminating if you put thinset over it.

• catbuilder
    11 years ago

My thoughts exactly about the Russian birch plywood. Very expensive for the wrong product to use.