Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swisschardfanatic

How do I cover this hole in bathroom ceiling? Pic included

DH had to cut this hole to install this ceiling fan in the bathroom in this 1940s home. How do we cover it up? DH just wants to put floor trim around the vent but I won't allow this. It needs to be done right. He says there's no way to wedge a piece of ceiling tile up in there but I'm not sure. What would you do?

Is it possible to buy these ceiling tiles (they aren't tile, they are some type of very lightweight material) in hardware stores or were they been phased out decades ago?

I was thinking that if we could get one, we could remove the vent fan's grate, then remove the tile that is there, and cut a new tile to fit and put it around the vent fan, then re-install the vent fan's grate.

Sorry if I'm using incorrect terminology. This is my first remodeling experience and I'm a total newbie.

Comments (8)

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    10 years ago

SCF:

Your husband has the right idea.

Your chances of finding a replacement tile are slim and the chances of that tile matching is even less.

It's molding, an escutcheon of some sort, or tape, drywall, and paint. Pick your poison.

• Swiss_Chard_Fanatic
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I hadn't thought about an escutcheon; that sounds like a pretty good idea. I'll look into this. Even tape and drywall would be better than moulding. Basically anything but moulding.

• Babka NorCal 9b
    10 years ago

Get a larger fan?????????

-Babka

• dekeoboe
    10 years ago

I don't suppose there is a closet in this bathroom?

• debrak2008
    10 years ago

Personally, I would take the time to take the ceiling down and put up drywall. You wouldn't need that much drywall.

• hunzi
    10 years ago

Oh the fabulousness of what I call schoolhouse paperboard ceilings!!!