Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yadax3_gw

Tile buying advice needed

yadax3
16 years ago

Hi Bill, Mongo, and anyone else with glass tile installation expertise,

A few years ago, when I began planning for my hall bath remodel, I researched glass tile installation on J. Bridge's forum and didn't find much information. It seemed most installers didnÂt have much experience with glass tile and that made me wary of trying to DIY the job, so I resigned myself to buying porcelain tile for my walls. Since then IÂve been working on other projects and stockpiling everything I need to do the remodel, with the exception of the wall tile. But now that thereÂs a bathtub sitting in my garage, IÂd very much like to get on with the job and IÂm wondering about buying glass tile again. Below is a link to the tile IÂm considering.

DH and I have some experience laying porcelain tile  we remodeled our master bath (including a Kerdi shower) and tiled our kitchen countertops.

Do you think we could/should DIY these glass tiles? If so, would they work well in a shower?

Thanks in advance for your feedback, Laura.

Here is a link that might be useful: Helio Glass Tile

Comments (15)

• bill_vincent
    16 years ago

I don't see why you couldn't. The only things are you'd have to do are make sure you have a glass blade for the saw, and you'd have to make sure the back of each tile is 100% coated when installing them, using white thinset.

• PRO
    Avanti Tile & Stone / Stonetech
    16 years ago

I have to say that glass tile is a little tricky. I've done a bit of it and there are considerations about the proper thinset and not having visible "ridges" showing thru the finished project. You can get some good advice here as well as at the John Bridge Forum....

• yadax3
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks to you both. I now feel cautiously optimistic about installing glass tile ourselves.