Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
prbetsi75_gw

Stupid question

prbetsi75
10 years ago

Sorry if this is a stupid question�.but it's my first time with a bathroom remodel.

Is it the contractor's responsibility to leave the bathroom clean? I mean, there's dust everywhere from cutting all the tile! Is it my responsibility to clean up all that dust? Or do they leave you the bathroom clean?

Comments (9)

• jewelisfabulous
    10 years ago

I wouldn't expect the bathroom to be cleaned until after all the work is finished. At that time, yes, I'd expect the contractor to leave the bathroom clean and shining. As far as the rest of the house, it's the homeowner's responsibility (usually) to clean away the dust.

• prbetsi75
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Yes, I was assuming it would be cleaned after all the work was doneâ¦.and I certainly wouldn't expect them to clean the dust in the rest of the house! ha! That would certainly be nice! I've been doing that on a regular basis. But good to know they are supposed to leave the bathroom clean and shining!

• divotdiva2
    10 years ago

We have cleaned up after all the subs - the drywall guys tried, but their version of "clean" does not match our definition of clean. Most of them have swept up at the end of every day. We have swept, vacuumed with shop vac, and mopped the slab several times as the flooring is not in yet, and even though it looks ok, there is always a pile of dust when we sweep again. The tile is going in now, and while I expect they will sweep up and clean it when all is done, I fully expect that we will go in on hands and knees and clean some more.

I have also shop-vaccumed all of the outlet boxes (full of drywall dust) before the switches and outlets go in, under the tub, and all of the sawdust inside the wall framing before the drywall went in. We didn't want all that dust lurking and finding a way to sift its way out and into our lungs in the years to come.