Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dkfinor

Elongated vs. Round Toilets

dkfinor
16 years ago

What is the measurement difference? I assume a "round" toilet is necessarily a "circle" shape (Sorry, I'm new to this research).

Comments (9)

• sweeby
    16 years ago

Not completely round, just less elongated. We have one, and front to back, it's about 3" shorter than the elongated toilets. But that's just the two we have - your milage may vary.

I hear most men have a fairly strong preference for elongated bowls.

• lazypup
    16 years ago

By code we may use either one in residential applications however we are required to install elongated bowls with open front toilet seats in any public access facility.

The intended purpose of the elongated bowl is for health concerns. By elongating the bowl and installing an open front toilet seat it reduces the potential of genitalia, feminine hygiene products or soiled toilet tissue from touching the front of the toilet seat.

• budge1
    16 years ago

We have both and had the round installed 1st. I thought the round was great until we got the elongated. The elongated is in the main bath and we use it the most. Now when I use the round it feels quite small and not quite right. I think it is probably a personal preference thing. The two bathrooms that we have the round ones in are so tiny that we couldn't do the elongated or the doors wouldn't close.

• garboplex
    16 years ago

Most of my retrofits have been 6 Liter elongated units. If you look at the MAP tests, the elongated versions of some of the toilets rate much better than the round in flushing power. Once you get used to the elongated, I think you'll prefer it.

Here is a link that might be useful: MaPs Tests

• shannonplus2
    16 years ago