Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katie8422_gw

My poor clawfoot tub

katie8422
14 years ago

I can't decide if I should keep it or not! We renovated before moving in and I took it out of the only bathroom and replaced it with a shower. It's been sitting in the basement for over a year, awaiting its fate. I originally planned on moving it up into the 2nd bathroom, which doesn't exist yet. It's time to plan the second bathroom, so it's time to decide about the tub.

Here are my issues. Feel free to poke holes in my theories because I am no expert.

1. Will my floor need extra support? It will be on the 2nd floor. I assume the tub is cast-iron because 2 strong men had a difficult time carrying it.

2. I've been told the fixtures will cost about $500.

3. It is in desperate need of refinishing or reporcelaining. ($$)

4. I've heard it's kind of hard to shower in them because the curtain is in the tub with you and can stick to you.

5. I've heard that they are more likely to spray and spill water out.

6. Most of the beautiful photos I find show it as a bath tub, NOT a shower. It's far less attractive with a shower curtain.

7. It will be our only tub, so we will be bathing the future kids in there. Is the lack of shelves/surfaces for shampoo & soap a problem, and is it annoying to not be able to sit on the ledge?

It's so perfect for the style of my house and I'm quite attached to it, but I'm not sure how practical it is. I need to make an informed decision. Please, enlighten me!

(My back up plan, if I can't use it as a tub, is to find someone to turn it into the fabulous couch from Breakfast at Tiffany's!)

Comments (2)

• funkyamazon
    14 years ago