Return to the Bathrooms Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Space above medicine cabinets?

Posted by rebecca3142 (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 5, 14 at 22:06

Here is a crude "to scale" representation of my vanity design. I need to have these large medicine cabinets for storage, so 1 large mirror is not an option.

My biggest question is the space above the medicine cabinets - is that too much blank space? I'm sure we will do some type of crown molding, but still....does this look funny? I think I could probably raise the medicine cabinets a few inches as well.

My current bathroom has much shorter ceilings, so I have no experience on this one.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Space above medicine cabinets?

So you have 9' ceilings. It is very helpful to see your scaled drawing.

Have you thought about getting taller medicine cabinets? I have 8' ceilings and I will be having a 40" tall mirrored medicine cabinet. In my drawings it seems to look like a good scale. Be sure you have room for the faucets to work, both on and off with a top mounted handle, with the med cabinets at that height. You might need to raise the med cab to accommodate a spout or handle. For example I need at least 8" for mine to clear, your drawing shows about 5" above the counter.

The lights might not be strong enough. They look like they are candelabra type sconces. I have 120watts each in my 2 sconces and I wonder if they will be enough to put on makeup. Sconces could be more substantial to help with scale. They look a little small.

o

Thanks for the feedback! Those were the largest medicine cabinets I could find "off the shelf" that were the width that I wanted. Are you having your cabinets custom-made? If not, what brand are you using?